The Waltons (1972-1981)

Status: Ended

Airdate: 1972-09-13

Runtime: 50 minutes

Rating(s): 7.6

Genre(s): Drama

Language(s): English, German


The Waltons is an American television series created by Earl Hamner, Jr., based on his book Spencer's Mountain, and a 1963 film of the same name. The show is centered on a family in a rural Virginia community during the Great Depression and World War II. The series pilot aired as a television movie entitled The Homecoming: A Christmas Story and was broadcast on December 19, 1971. Beginning in September 1972, the series originally aired on CBS for a total of nine seasons. After the series was canceled in 1981, three television movie sequels followed in 1982, with three more in the 1990s. The Waltons was produced by Lorimar Productions and distributed by Warner Bros. Domestic Television Distribution in syndication.

Episode Title Rating Airdate Skipped Watched
Normal Episodes 221
Season 1 25
Season 2 25
Season 3 25
Season 4 25
Season 5 25
Season 6 26
Season 7 24
Season 8 24
Season 9 22
Specials 8
Cast 16
Ralph Waite - John Walton Sr.
Michael Learned - Olivia Walton
Richard Thomas - John-boy Walton
Ellen Corby - Ester Walton
Jon Walmsley - Jason Walton
David W. Harper - Jim-Bob Walton
Earl Hamner, Jr. - The Narrator
Eric Scott - Ben Walton
Judy Norton Taylor - Mary Ellen Walton
Kami Cotler - Elizabeth Walton
Joe Conley - Ike Godsey
Keith Coogan - Jeffrey Burton
Robert Wightman - John-Boy Walton
David Doremus - George William 'G.W.' Haines
Will Geer - Zebulon Tyler Walton (grandfather)
Mary Beth McDonough - Erin Walton
Production 3
Earl Hamner, Jr. - Producer
Robert L. Jacks - Producer
Lee Rich - Executive Producer
Network 1

No reviews available.