The Flying Doctors (1986-1992)

Status: Ended

Airdate: 1986-05-15

Runtime: 50 minutes

Rating(s): 7.7

Genre(s): Drama

Language(s): English


The Flying Doctors is an Australian drama series produced by Crawford Productions that revolved around the everyday lifesaving efforts of the real Royal Flying Doctor Service of Australia. It was initially a 1985 mini-series based in the fictional outback town of Cooper's Crossing starring Andrew McFarlane as the newly arrived Dr. Tom Callaghan. The success of the mini series led to its return the following year as an on-going series with McFarlane being joined by a new doctor, Chris Randall, played by Liz Burch. McFarlane left during the first season and actor Robert Grubb came in as new doctor Geoff Standish. The series' episodes were mostly self-contained but also featured ongoing storylines, such as Dr. Standish's romance with Sister Kate Wellings. Other major characters included pilot Sam Patterson, mechanic Emma Plimpton, local policeman Sgt. Jack Carruthers and Vic and Nancy Buckley, who ran the local pub/hotel, The Majestic. Andrew McFarlane also later returned to the series, resuming his role as Dr. Callaghan. The popular series ran for nine seasons and was successfully screened internationally.

Episode Title Rating Airdate Skipped Watched
Normal Episodes 304
Season 1 26
Season 2 39
Season 3 37
Season 4 37
Season 5 40
Season 6 49
Season 7 20
Season 8 27
Season 9 29
Specials 6
Cast 22
Liz Burch
Andrew McFarlane
Robert Grubb
Lenore Smith
Rebecca Gibney
Sophie Lee
Peter O'Brien
Shane Withington
Max Cullen
Nikki Coghill
Pat Evison
Beverley Dunn
David Reyne
Alex Papps
Terry Gill
Christopher Stollery
George Kapiniaris
Louise Siversen
Mark Little
Maurie Fields
Sarah Chadwick
Val Jellay
Network 1
Nine Network

No reviews available.