WCW Monday Nitro (1995-2001)

Status: Ended

Airdate: 1995-09-03

Runtime: 2 hours

Rating(s): 8.1

Genre(s): Action & Adventure

Language(s): English


WCW Monday Nitro was a weekly professional wrestling telecast produced by World Championship Wrestling, created by Ted Turner and Eric Bischoff. The show aired Monday nights on TNT, going head-to-head with the World Wrestling Federation's Monday Night Raw from September 4, 1995 to March 26, 2001. Production ceased shortly after WCW was purchased by the WWF. The debut of Nitro began the Monday Night Wars, a ratings battle between the WWF and WCW that lasted for almost six years and saw each company resort to cutthroat tactics to try to compete with the competition. In mid-1996, Nitro began to draw better ratings than Raw based on the strength of the nWo storyline, an anarchist wrestling stable that wanted to take over WCW. Nitro continued to beat Raw for 84 consecutive weeks, forcing WWE owner Vince McMahon to change the way he did business. As the nWo storyline grew stagnant, fan interest in the storyline waned, and Raw began to edge out Nitro in the ratings. The turning point for the organizations came during the January 4, 1999 broadcast of Nitro, during which lead commentator Tony Schiavone gave away the results of matches for that night's Raw broadcast. As Raw was taped and Nitro was live, Bischoff believed that knowing the outcome would dissuade viewers from watching the program. Excited by the prospect of seeing perennial WWF underdog Mick Foley win the WWF Championship, a large number of Nitro viewers changed channels to watch Raw, switching back to Nitro after Foley won the title. From that week forward, Raw beat Nitro in the ratings by a significant amount, and WCW was never able to regain the success it once had.

Episode Title Rating Airdate Skipped Watched
Normal Episodes 289
Season 1 17
Season 2 51
Season 3 52
Season 4 55
Season 5 51
Season 6 51
Season 7 12
Cast 122
Rebecca Curci Hickenbottom
Alex Wright
John Watson
The Barbarian
Lance Evers
Vito LoGrasso
Jerry Sags
Sean O'Haire
Norman Smiley
Jeff Jarrett
Paul Wight
Christopher Klucsarits
Ernest Miller
Curt Hennig
Shannon McNeill
Kevin Sullivan
Mike Rotunda
Pamela Paulshock
Jon Hugger
Jacques Rougeau
Mike Tenay
Stephanie Bellars
Allen Neal Jones
Brian Adams
Stevie Ray
Dean Malenko
Jimmy Hart
Elix Skipper
Chuck Palumbo
Scott Hall
William Regal
Brian Pillman
Kaz Hayashi
Vince Russo
Scott Anthony Levy
Roddy Piper
Bobby Eaton
Bobby Heenan
Billy Kidman
Dale Torborg
The Ultimate Warrior
Último Dragón
John Tenta
Barry Windham
Booker Huffman
Debrah Miceli
Tammy Lynn Sytch
Chris Benoit
Jim Duggan
Scott Charles Bigelow
Arn Anderson
Eric Bischoff
Virgil Riley Runnels, Jr.
Dallas Page
Eddie Guerrero
Terry Taylor
Bret Hart
Ted DiBiase
Bill Goldberg
Terry Funk
Mark Jindrak
Brad Armstrong
Bill DeMott
Alicia Webb
Chae An
Sherri Martel
Kevin Nash
John Nord
Mike Enos
Steve McMichael
Keiichi Yamada
Juventud Guerrera
Kelly Warren Wolfe
Evan Karagias
Chris Candido
Bobby Duncum, Jr.
Stacy Keibler - Ms. Hancock
Ric Flair
Sick Boy
Erik Watts
Kristina Laum
Gene Okerlund
Jennifer Bancalum
Randy Savage
Michael Jerry Tuite
Michael Modest
Sean Waltman
Shannon Moore
Keiji Mutoh
Molly Holly
Vanessa Sanchez
Kendall Windham
Ron Reis
Marcus Alexander Bagwell
Reid Flair
Allan Funk
Debra McMichael
Michael Edwin Neil Sanders
Tank Abbott
Chris Adams
Perry Saturn
Christi Wolf
Johnathan Mark LeRoux
Johnny Swinger
Luna Vachon
Sid Vicious
"Dr. Death" Steve Williams
Sharmell Sullivan-Huffman
Daniel Christopher Covell
April Hunter
Rick Fuller
Robert Swenson
Tony Mamaluke
Jamie Noble
Van Hammer
Brad Cain
Jim Neidhart
Kimberly Page
Hulk Hogan
Jim Fullington - The Sandman
Writing 1
Eric Bischoff - Writer
Network 1

No reviews available.