A Different World (1987-1993)

Status: Ended

Airdate: 1987-09-23

Runtime: 30 minutes

Rating(s): 6.9

Genre(s): Comedy

Language(s): English


A Different World is an American television sitcom which aired for six seasons on NBC. It is a spin-off series from The Cosby Show and originally centered on Denise Huxtable and the life of students at Hillman College, a fictional mixed but historically black college in the state of Virginia. After Bonet's departure in the first season, the remainder of the series primarily focused more on Southern belle Whitley Gilbert and mathematics whiz Dwayne Wayne. The series frequently depicted members of the major historically black fraternities and sororities. While it was a spin-off from The Cosby Show, A Different World would typically address issues that were avoided by The Cosby Show writers. One episode that aired in 1990 was one of the first American network television episodes to address the HIV/AIDS epidemic.

Episode Title Rating Airdate Skipped Watched
Normal Episodes 144
Season 1 22
Season 2 22
Season 3 25
Season 4 25
Season 5 25
Season 6 25
Cast 10
Cree Summer - Winifred 'Freddie' Brooks
Jasmine Guy - Whitley Marion Gilbert
Dawnn Lewis - Jaleesa Vinson-Taylor
Kadeem Hardison - Dwayne Cleophus Wayne
Charnele Brown - Kimberly Reese
Glynn Turman - Colonel Bradford Taylor
Loretta Devine - Stevie Rallen
Marisa Tomei - Maggie Lauten
Mary Alice - Leticia "Lettie" Bostic
Vernee Watson-Johnson - Carla Meyers
Production 2
Debbie Allen - Producer
Tom Werner - Producer
Network 1

No reviews available.